Vivid Landscape Design in Seattle, WA USA

Susan Picquelle began her new career as a landscape designer in 2010 after 30 years in her first career as a statistician conducting research on marine ecosystems.  Susan excelled in the Landscape Design Program at Edmonds Community College in Lynnwood, Washington and graduated from the program in 2012.  But her education in horticulture began decades earlier through study, by experimenting in her own gardens, and by consulting and designing landscapes as an amateur for many friends.

 

Continuing her education is a lifelong priority, both to enhance her proficiency as a designer, and for the sheer joy of learning.  In addition to her own landscape design business, Susan also works part time for Nyce Gardens (http://nycegardens.com/) and occasionally assists Phil Wood Garden Design (http://www.philwoodgardens.com/).  Experience with both Nyce Gardens and with Phil Wood has been a wonderful continuation of her design education.

 

Susan is a member and frequent volunteer for the Northwest Horticultural Society (http://www.northwesthort.org/), the Arboretum Foundation (http://www.arboretumfoundation.org/), the Northwest Perennial Alliance (http://www.northwestperennialalliance.org/), and has a key role in the Washington Chapter of the Association of Professional Landscape Designers (http://www.apldwa.org/) as chair of their Program Committee.  She is also a member of the Garden Conservancy (http://www.gardenconservancy.org/), Bellevue Botanical Garden Society (http://www.bellevuebotanical.org/society.html), Nature Conservancy Legacy Club (http://www.nature.org/gift-planning/legacy-club/index.htm), and the Sierra Club (http://www.sierraclub.org/).

 

Susan’s professional activities in her current and previous careers have led to her great proficiency in interacting with clients.  She is comfortable working independently but prefers collaborating with others. Through an in-depth analysis with her clients, she identifies their needs and desires, develops strategies to fulfill these, assigns priorities, and makes the process of reaching the clients’ goals fun.

 

Susan is attentive to details but also keeps her eye on the big picture and she walks comfortably in both the science and artistic realms.  Her appreciation of the complex world of nature and her desire to respect and protect the natural world are lifelong values

 

 

About Susan